Launch of new WHO report on the scope and impact of digital marketing for the promotion of breast-milk substitutes – World Health Organization

Lead Marketing & Automation Services > Blog > Uncategorized > Launch of new WHO report on the scope and impact of digital marketing for the promotion of breast-milk substitutes – World Health Organization

Following a mandate at the 2020 World Health Assembly, WHO has completed a review of evidence demonstrating the scope and impact of digital marketing strategies for the promotion of breast-milk substitutes.

This webcast will be an opportunity to hear from technical experts about this review of evidence about digital marketing behaviours used by the formula milk industry. It is the first time such research has been completed using a commercial social media intelligence gathering tool.
This report follows the publication of multi-country research by WHO & UNICEF in February that demonstrated the exploitative tactics used by the baby milk industry. Over US$ 55 billion is spent each year promoting breast-milk substitutes. These new findings raise considerable concern about the use of powerful digital marketing techniques to reach mothers online and influence the decisions they make about feeding their babies.  
 
To accommodate audiences around the world, the event will be webcast twice.
Register to participate in the live Q and A.
 
For delegates in Africa, Europe, and the Asia Pacific:

Webcast 1 – register here
08h00-09h00 CEST/WEST(Geneva)
11h30 – 12h30 IST (New Delhi)
14h00 – 15h00 PHST (Manila)
16h00 – 17h00 AEST (Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne, Hobart)
 
For delegates in the Americas:

Webcast 2 – register here
08h00 – 09h00 PDT (Vancouver)
10h00 – 11h00 CDT (México City)
11h00 – 12h00 EDT (New York)
17h00 – 18h00 CEST/WEST (Geneva)

The webcast will be available to view on the WHO website after the launch along with the report.

Please share this information and use the hashtag #EndExploitativeMarketing

 
Related
Sign up to add your name to the over 4000 signatures
Scope and impact of digital marketing strategies for promoting breastmilk substitutes
News

source